Departement France map

Map of France department. Departement France map (Western Europe - Europe) to print. Departement France map (Western Europe - Europe) to download. In the administrative division of France, the department (French: département, pronounced: [depaʁtəmɑ̃]) is one of the three levels of government below the national level, between the region and the commune. Departments are further subdivided into 342 arrondissements, themselves divided into cantons; the latter two have no autonomy and are used for the organisation of public services or elections. In continental France (metropolitan France, excluding Corsica), the median land area of a department is 5,965 km2 (2,303 sq mi) as its shown in departement France map, which is two-and-a-half times the median land area of a ceremonial county of England & Wales and slightly more than three-and-half times the median land area of a county of the United States.

Map of France department

printPrint system_update_altDownload
Some Departements in France are very rich compared to others. Paris, Hauts-de-Seine (GDP per capita : €67 000 in 2000) and Rhône, for example, concentrate a lot of company headquarters as its mentioned in departement France map. The Yvelines is the second richest département in France according to the income of inhabitants. In Hauts-de-Seine the wages are on average €28 000 per capita, in Yvelines €27 900, and in Paris €25 000 against €15 000 in France (data 2004 INSEE).